Special Announcement

The plans for the 2023 – 87th Annual Meeting of FedChoice Federal Credit Union are hereby announced.

Date: Wednesday, February 22, 2023
Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location: FedChoice Headquarters - 10001 Willowdale Road, Lanham, MD




The names, together with a brief statement of qualifications, of the persons nominated by the Nominating Committee are included below.



Brad Buckles

Mr. Buckles received his Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Wyoming and his Juris Doctor from Washburn University in Topeka, Kansas.  He is licensed to practice law in District of Columbia. In 1995, Mr. Buckles was named the Chief Counsel of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms (ATF) and in 1996 he was named the Deputy Director of ATF. In 1999, Mr. Buckles was named the Director of ATF. In this position, he oversaw a staff of more than 5,000 employees with a $900 million budget. In 2004, he retired from ATF after almost 30 years of service.  Mr. Buckles is currently the Chief Content Protection Officer at the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) where he directs anti-piracy programs on behalf of the U.S. recording industry.  He has been a member of the Credit Union since 1974.


David E. Bunch, Jr.

Mr. Bunch has been a member of FedChoice Federal Credit Union since 1979. David first joined the FedChoice staff in 1987 as a Mortgage Loan Officer and opened the Credit Union to offering mortgage loan products. By 1990, he was promoted to Vice President of Lending and managed mortgage loans, consumer loans and collection efforts. In 1992, he became the Chief Operating Officer and in January 1996 was named President/CEO. David graduated from the BAI Bank Administration Institute with an Operations Management degree at the University of Wisconsin in 1994 and went on to earn his CUES Certified Chief Executive (CCE) designation in 1997.  Finally, David was elected to the Board of Directors in 2001.  

After 34 wonderful years at FedChoice, Mr. Bunch retired on January 1, 2022 but continues to volunteer on the Board of Directors.  As a member of our Board, David is currently serving on several Committees including Human Resources, Finance, and Loans.


Karen A.  Sandor

Ms. Sandor has been associated with FedChoice since 1980 as both a member and employee, retiring in July 2022 after a 42-year career with the Credit Union.  She served in many roles throughout her time with FedChoice and managed multiple areas of operations, as well as strategic planning, ultimately serving in the positions of Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice President.  She also volunteered as a mentor for fellow Credit Union employees and held positions as a member of the FedChoice Credit Union Service Organization (CUSO) and Tangerine Foundation Boards.  Ms. Sandor was appointed to the FedChoice Board upon her retirement from the Credit Union and is excited to use her experience and continue to serve the FedChoice membership in a volunteer capacity.


Vivian B. Michalic

Ms. Michalic retired from ATF in 2019 after a 34-year career with the agency. She started working for ATF in the Property and Space Management Branch in 1985 and was promoted over the years to a successive number of supervisory positions. Ms. Michalic served as the Chief Financial Officer for ATF during the last nine years of her career where she was responsible for a $1.1 billion budget, 150 employees, 250 contractors, three divisions as well as Financial Management, Logistics and Acquisitions, and Asset Forfeiture and Seized Property. She graduated from Catholic University with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in General Business Administration and earned a Certificate in Financial Management from George Washington University School of Business and Public Management. Ms. Michalic was appointed to the FedChoice Supervisory Committee in 2019 and became a member of the FedChoice Board of Directors in April 2020 to replace Marvin Dessler.

If you would like to nominate yourself or another member of FedChoice to the Board of Directors, contact us to request the nomination form.